

WET WEATHER STAKEHOLDER TEAM



Meeting Summary Wet Weather Team Stakeholder Group April 21, 2022 Tour of Waterway Protection Tunnel

The Wet Weather Team (WWT) Stakeholders, chartered by the Louisville and Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD), met on April 21, 2022 for a tour of the nearly completed Waterway Protection Tunnel (WPT). The objective of the meeting was to:

• Tour the WPT to learn more about MSD's single largest capital project and key component of MSD's overflow mitigation strategy

Welcome and Tour

Clay Kelly of Strand Associates, Inc.[®] opened the meeting by welcoming everyone and introducing Jacob Mathis, MSD's Project Manager for the WPT. Jacob provided a summary of the WPT purpose, capabilities, and components. He then went over the safety precautions and rules before leading the WWT below ground for an in-person tour of the tunnel.

Observer Comments, Wrap-Up, and Adjournment

Numerous questions were asked by the attendees about the specifics of the WPT and how it would help improve water quality. Several long-serving WWT members shared their pride on seeing the last major project of the program they advised become a reality.

Meeting Summary Wet Weather Team Stakeholder Group April 21, 2022 Tour of Waterway Protection Tunnel

Meeting Participants

Wet Weather Team Stakeholders (Present) Steve Barger, Labor (retired) Susan Barto, Mayor of Lyndon Deborah Bilitski, Waterfront Development Corporation Andrew Condia, Senator Mitch McConnell's Office Mark French, University of Louisville Speed School of Engineering Corinne Greenberg, Carbide Industries David James, Louisville Metro Council, District 6 Lisa Santos, Irish Hill Neighborhood Association David Wicks, Get Outdoors Kentucky; Jefferson County Public Schools (retired) Ward Wilson, Kentucky Waterways Alliance Wet Weather Team Stakeholders (Not Present) Stuart Benson, Louisville Metro Council, District 20 Billy Doelker, Key Homes Arnita Gadson, West Jefferson County Community Task Force Rick Johnstone, Deputy Mayor, Louisville Metro Mayor's Office (retired) Kurt Mason, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service Jody Meiman, Louisville Metro Government, Director of EMA/MetroSafe Jeff O'Brien, Louisville Metro Government, Director of Louisville Forward Rocky Pusateri, Elite Built Homes Tina Ward-Pugh, Louisville Metro Government, Resilience and Community Services, Office for Women Mary Ellen Wiederwohl, Louisville Metro Government, Chief of Louisville Forward Nicole Yates, Representative John Yarmuth's Office

Wet Weather Team MSD Personnel (Not Present) Tony Parrott, MSD Executive Director Angela Akridge, MSD Chief Strategy Officer Brian Bingham, MSD Chief of Operations David Johnson, MSD Chief Engineer John Loechle, MSD Engineering Technical Services Director

Technical Support

Clay Kelly, Strand Associates Paul Maron, Strand Associates

Meeting Observers

Jason Dempster, MSD Colette Easter, MSD Nicole Koeninger, MSD Stephanie Laughlin, MSD Wesley Sydnor, MSD Anne Trout, MSD Genevieve First, Louisville Metro

Meeting Summary Wet Weather Team Stakeholder Group April 21, 2022 Tour of Waterway Protection Tunnel

Michael Gritton, Louisville Metro Steve Haag, Louisville Metro Sonya Harward, Louisville Metro Katrina Helmer, Louisville Metro Bill Hollander, Louisville Metro Council, District 9 Chris Lewis, Louisville Metro Shalanna Taylor, Louisville Metro John Torsky, Louisville Metro Angela Webster, Louisville Metro Tyler Mahoney, University of Louisville

No Meeting Handouts